RSS Feed

Why Halloween and Cosplay Just Doesn’t Mix With Me

Posted on

Man, as someone who likes dressing up in strange costumes and wearing them in public, one would think that I would use Halloween, a chance to do this and have it seem normal, to the full potential. But I don’t. I just don’t see the point. Not that I’m knocking people who go all out for Halloween. You guys are awesome, and I wish I had that dedication. I make and wear costumes to conventions because I enjoy interacting with people who have the same interests as me: video games and sewing. I like to talk to these people. Halloween, to me, feels like a diluted version of this. It almost seems like a tradition to put on that factory made, costume satin, generic costume. But mostly. I think Halloween is a cosplay waste of time because it is not a forum for interacting with those I have similar interests in. It is the time for photos in crowded apartments with friends, not elaborate photoshoots in elaborate locations with photographers who have elaborate cameras.

I wish I could bring myself to go all out for Halloween, but it just isn’t the same for me.

This is a lame excuse for a post. Truth is, I have not worked on anything for conventions yet because I suck.  Arisia (http://2012.arisia.org/) is happening soon, and I am probably (definitely) going. Students, please check out the price of your pass and ask yourselves why you are not going to this! I don’t really have a costume yet (thinking about Amy Pond from Doctor Who) but I doubt it will be anything fancy because if it is January, I am already panicking about Anime Boston.

Leave a Reply

